JUST IN: Lagos extends Okada ban to more LGAs

Written by on August 18, 2022

The Lagos State Government has extended Okada ban to four more Local Govt Areas and five Local Council Development Areas.

As gathered, the state Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has directed full enforcement from September 1, 2022.

Sanwo-Olu had in May banned motorcycles on highways and six local governments and nine Local Council Development Areas.

The additional councils where the total Okada ban is pronounced include Kosofe Local Government, Oshodi-Isolo Local Government, Shomolu Local Government, and Mushin Local Government.

Others are Ikosi-Isherri LCDA, Agboyi-Ketu LCDA, Isolo LCDA, Bariga LCDA, and Odi-Olowo LCDA.

1. Kosofe Local Government

a. Ikosi-Isherri LCDA

b. Agboyi-Ketu LCDA

2. Oshodi-Isolo Local Government

a. Isolo LCDA

3. Shomolu Local Government

a. Bariga LCDA.

4. Mushin Local Government

a. Odi-Olowo LCDA

This follows the governorโ€™s directive on May 24 that the state government will go ahead with its proposed ban on motorcycles, adding that security services and Lagos State Government are on the same page with respect to the banning of motorcycles in the selected areas of the state.

He also assured that the security architecture of the state would not be compromised in any way so that Lagos residents will continue to live their lives and do their business without any fear or favour.


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Current track